7.6 C

What is F1 Sprint?

Popular Posts

F1 Sprint returns for its second year. While many may be skeptical – F1 Sprint is a sport that is steeped in tradition and history, after all – it wasn’t a complete disaster last year. F1 Sprint can be confusing for those who aren’t familiar with the sport.

F1 Sprint is the first major change to qualifying since 2016. It was widely dissented and short-lived. To decide which side you are on, you need to understand the process.

If you aren’t familiar with F1 updates, we’ll explain what F1 Sprint is and who gets Pole Position. How to view an F1 live stream to catch F1 Sprint that day.

What is F1 Sprint?

Regular qualification for the Grand Prix is based on a knockout system over three rounds that are all held on Saturdays.

All drivers participate in the first session. The slowest five drivers are 16-20 on final grid. The second session is for the remaining 15 drivers. Grid spots 11-15 are again taken by the slower five. The final session features the Pole Position race between the 10 fastest drivers and the next grid spots 2-10.

Sprint Qualifying will still take place, but regular qualifying will be moved to Friday (in place of Practice 2), and will determine F1 Sprint’s starting grid. F1 Sprint takes place on Saturday. Regular quals will continue as normal.

F1 Sprint will be held in one session. The circuit will be raced by all drivers. Their finishing positions in the shorter race will determine their place on the final grid. This race is short to ensure a thrilling, flat-out race for drivers and spectators. Teams won’t need to stop for fuel or tires.

What has F1 Sprint been like since last year?

F1 Sprint’s general format has remained the same. However, there are some tweaks that make the races more competitive and impactful.

The most significant change is that Sprint racing is now more lucrative for drivers in terms points. The top three drivers received points last year. They were awarded 3 points for being first, 2 for being second and 1 for being third. The top 8 drivers now receive points. They can earn anywhere from 8 points to 1 point for the eighth.

Who is the winner of pole position in F1 Sprint

Last year, Qualifying’s winner started F1 Sprint first, while F1 Sprint’s winner started from Pole Position at the GP.

Due to fan reaction to the title ‘Pole Position’ being awarded to a driver who didn’t perform the fastest lap around the circuit, arguably devaluing it, a driver can now hold Pole Position during an F1 Sprint Week and not start the GP.

Pole Position will be awarded to the driver who qualifies in the first position. They will also start F1 Sprint in the first place. If another driver wins F1 Sprint on Sunday, they will start on P1 but the winner will keep the honorary “Pole Position”.

(Image credit: Clive Mason – Formula 1/Formula 1 via Getty Images)

Is F1 Sprint Qualifying taking place in 2022?

F1 Sprint this year will take place at Imola for the Emilia-Romagna GP and at Red Bull Ring for the Austrian GP. Sau Paulo’s Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace will host the Brazilian GP.

F1 Sprint was never held at Red Bull Ring or Imola, but it returns to Brazil for the second time.

How to see Sprint Qualifying

You will need a live stream to watch the second F1 Sprint Qualifying run. We recommend that you read our How to Watch the Italian Grand Prx Article, which provides information about global viewing options.

You may not be able to access the streaming services you use to view the Grand Prix if you aren’t in your country. There is a way around this: Use a VPN.

You only need to sign up for a VPN service – ExpressVPN is our first choice – and then change the location to your home country. If you are currently in the US and wish to watch the Sky Sports coverage, you can simply select a UK VPN server and then go to the website to change your location to back home.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Recent Posts