Are you annoyed when someone calls and says they are busy? Then, call them back a few minutes later to get through.
If you agree, I’m also in.
It’s happened many times, and I was curious to find out what “User Busy”, or if it means that the line is busy when I receive the alert.
This is what I did to learn more.
Thanks to my extensive research, this guide should help explain what “User Busy” means on your iPhone.
When you call someone from your iPhone, the “User Busy” message will tell you that they are currently on another call. It is best to wait.
What does the “User Busy” message mean?
If you see the word “User Busy”, it is likely that the person you’re trying to reach is engaged in another conversation on his mobile phone.
Due to the way phones work, multiple people can only be reached if someone calls.
Priority is given to the call currently being made. After the call is ended, the lines will still be available to receive calls.
Why is my iPhone showing the “User Busy” message?
It is possible that you are not receiving the message because the person on the other end of the line is on another call.
You may occasionally get a “User Busy”, but this is rare.
It can happen if the person you’re trying to reach is using a phone that has an alert slider (e.g., the iPhone or OnePlus), or if they have set the alert slider to silent.
Nine times out of ten, however, the reason that you receive the busy message is that the person on the other call is not available.
Verify that the recipient is actually busy
You don’t have to give up on trying to reach the recipient. Instead, confirm if they are actually busy with another call.
You could try sending them a text and wait to see if the recipient reads it.
If they respond, you can confirm they were not on the phone and then try to get back to them.
If you are unable to reach them by text, you may also ask them to call back using a text message.
Waiting is an appropriate interval of time.
You can wait until you are sure that the other person is on the call.
You will get a message saying “User Busy” after you have tried to get through. Wait for a while before trying again.
Continue to wait and try several more times until you finally connect.
You could also text them to let your friend know that you tried to reach them for a while.
Create a “User Busy” Message for yourself
You can easily show the “User Busy” message to anyone who calls you.
This can be done by turning off Do Not Disturb on iPhone.
This can be done on iOS 15
- Start the Settings App.
- Choose Focus.
- Select Do Not Disturb.
- You can customize how notifications are sent to you.
It can also be turned on via the Control Center, by opening it up and clicking Focus.
From there, you can turn on Do Not Disturb.
For iOS 14 or older:
- Open Settings.
- Go to Do not Disturb.
- You can turn on DND, or you can set a schedule for when it should be turned on.
This can be done from the Control Center, by selecting the crescent moon icon on the panel.
If you haven’t received a response to your calls or texts, can leave a voicemail even if you don’t call the person.
You can leave messages on your cellular provider without having to call. If you have the same provider as the person you want to call, you might also be able to use those features.
You can use Spectrum’s Call Guard service to block calls and appear busy if you have a Spectrum Landline account.
Most Frequently Asked Questions
How do you know if someone is using another iPhone?
To check if someone is available, you can use the Truecaller app from your smartphone.
You may also be able to see if they are on a phone call by dialing their number.
How can you tell if someone has blocked your iPhone?
Check if messages you send through iMessage are delivered to confirm that you are not blocked.
You may have been blocked if you send a message and the app refuses to deliver it, even though you have a strong signal.
You can also send polite messages through other channels.
If iMessage is blocked, will it still say delivered?
If you’re blocked on iMessage the app will tell you that the message hasn’t been delivered.