It’s a great way to control your Instagram engagements. However, blocking someone you know in person can be awkward.
You can avoid awkward situations with Instagram’s Restrict feature.
This article will explain what Instagram’s Block and Restrict functions are and how they differ so you can choose which option to use when you want to block someone.
What does it mean to restrict someone on Instagram?
Blocking is what we all know. It prevents someone from interacting with you on Instagram or viewing your posts. What does it mean to restrict someone on Instagram? And what happens when you restrict someone’s account?
It helps you avoid undesirable interactions with other users, without alerting them.
Limiting Instagram is an anti-bullying feature. It allows you to limit the number of accounts that can post on your profile, giving you more control over your comments and followers.
You can hide comments and messages from someone you have restricted. This is like putting the restricted user behind a privacy screen so they can only see you. However, they cannot interact with you as usual and don’t know it.
This tool is useful when you have to deal with repeated bullies, who leave negative comments about your Instagram posts or harass you via Direct Messages.
Block vs. How Instagram Restricts You Access to Your Profile
Your Stories and feed are hidden when you block someone. They will still be able access your profile and can see data at the top, including the number and type of people you follow and how many posts you have.
They won’t see your posts, even though your profile is public.
However, if you restrict someone’s visibility of your profile or posts, it doesn’t make much difference on their part.
They can still see your Stories and feeds, and you can also see theirs.
Blocking vs. Restricting Comments: What Does It Do to Your Comments?
You can block someone from commenting on your posts. You can still comment on each others’ posts if you limit them.
This is because the comments made by the person that you have restricted are only visible to them, and not to anyone else.
They will not be notified that their activity has been restricted. They will still be able to comment on your posts without any impact on you or other followers.
Your comments on their posts will not change. They will still be able to see them.
How to view Restricted Comments
While the comments of restricted persons appear under your post, they are not visible under a protected message. They will not notify you when they comment on your posts. You can only see their comments by opening the post to view them in the comments section.
To see the comment, tap View comment. Then you can choose to Approve, or Delete.
It will be visible to all if you approve it. It will not be visible to the restricted person if you delete it.
They will not be notified about the action you take.
Block vs. Restrict: What It Does to Messages
You can’t message your friend if you block them on Instagram. It works differently if you limit an account.
These are the consequences:
- A restricted person can message you. Their messages will be delivered to the Requests mailbox.
- When they message you, you will not be notified. If you manually view your message requests, you will not be able to see their messages.
- You will not be notified if they view your message. This means that they won’t be notified by the chat text “seen” text if you haven’t read their message.
Tap Unrestrict to reply to restricted persons’ messages. To delete the message, you can also choose Delete.
Tap Block if you don’t want to interact with the person.
There are other differences between restricting someone on Instagram and blocking them
There are other differences between restricting and blocking Instagram. This includes activity status, tags and mentions as well as notifications.
You can restrict someone just like the block option. This means that you cannot see their active status and will not be able to tell when they last online.
A person who has been blocked or restricted from mentioning you can tag and mention you, unlike comments and messages. You won’t get notified if they block you, but you’ll be notified if they restrict you. This means Instagram’s restricted function won’t work for tags or mentions.
You will not be notified if you block any type of interaction. You don’t get notifications when someone is restricted, but you will be notified when they tag or send you messages.
Block vs. Restrict: Will the Affected Person Be able to See?
It is impossible to tell if someone blocked you. There are however ways to find out such as visiting the profile. However, restrict is not a feature that allows you to do this.
An individual who is restricted will not know that they are restricted. It appears that everything is normal for them. They can still comment on posts and send messages to you, as well as view your profile just like any other user. Only you can make the difference.
How to block someone on Instagram
To block a user’s profile go to their three-dot icon and tap Block.
How to restrict someone on Instagram
Three methods can be used to limit an Instagram user:
- Directly from the comments
- By changing your account settings.
- You can find their profile.
Below, we’ll discuss each of these options.
How to restrict a user from your comments
- Tap and hold the comment of the person you wish to limit.
- Tap the information icon at the top, then click the Restrict link.
Follow these steps for iOS:
- Swipe to the comment.
- Tap the information icon, which is an exclamation mark in a bubble. Then Restrict.