Do you know what they mean when they say, “The internet never forgets?” It can now! It’s a liberating experience not to have to worry about messages being read by others.
You can use Instagram’s Vanish Mode to have private conversations that disappear after being read. We will be showing you how to use Vanish Mode on Instagram.
What is Vanish Mode?
Vanish Mode was launched on Facebook Messenger back in 2020. However, it has now been integrated into Instagram’s messaging tools. Facebook announced the feature allows users to create and join temporary chat topics that are automatically deleted when the chat ends.
Although it is similar to Snapchat’s self-erasing function, it can only be activated manually. Vanish Mode is only available for two-person chats. It does not work in group chats.
Are you eager to join the action? Let’s see how the disappearing messages feature works!
How to use Vanish Mode on Instagram
To activate Vanish Mode
- Click on the chat button in your Instagram app.
- Scroll to the bottom of your chat and select an existing message, or create a new thread.
- Tap at the bottom of your screen to activate Vanish Mode.
- After activating it, Instagram will enter dark mode. Your screen will display ‘Shush’ emojis as a sign that you are in Vanish Mode. A message will be displayed on your screen letting you know that you are in Vanish Mode. Send your Instagram direct messages just like normal
How to turn off Vanish Mode on Instagram
To close the Vanish Mode feature
- You can open a chatbox and enable Vanish Mode.
- To turn off Vanish Mode, swipe up from the bottom of your screen.
- Swipe up and Vanish Mode will be disabled.
All messages that were seen after you close the chat window will be deleted.
Make sure your app is up-to-date if the feature doesn’t work. You may not have Vanish Mode access in your area if you’ve downloaded the latest version of Instagram.
Important Information About Vanish Mode
Here are some important points to remember before you use Instagram’s Vanish Mode.
This feature is only available to people who are following each other on Instagram. This is an innocuous safety precaution to ensure you don’t get unwelcome messages on Instagram from strangers.
You have the option to either opt-in with someone or decline to receive this feature. You have complete control over your chat experience.
You will be notified instantly if your chat buddy takes screenshots of your messages in Vanish Mode.
Before you share a message, make sure to turn on Vanish Mode. Otherwise, your chats will be permanent unless you decide to un-send them.
You can send messages accidentally without activating the Vanish Mode feature. Your messages will appear just like any other message. You can’t make Vanish Mode hide messages that you have sent by mistake.
Why Vanish Mode is Important
If you are worried about hackers looking into your chats, Vanish Mode is the right choice. Vanish Mode is a great option if privacy and safety are important to you.
If you wish to chat privately with another Instagram user, Vanish Mode is also available. You can use Vanish Mode to share details with friends and loved ones if you are planning a surprise party.
Get Out of Your Messaging Shell
Once you close the chat, all seen photos, text, memes and stickers shared in Vanish Mode will be lost forever.
You can always block someone and report a conversation if it is not safe for you. This feature allows you to express yourself and break free of your e-shell.