23.8 C
Munich

How to Recall an Email Feature in Outlook

Popular Posts

A built-in feature in Outlook allows you to recall an email or replace a message, but there are some requirements. This article explains:

  • How to retrieve an email
  • Recalling Outlook Email: the requirements
  • Recall results and delays

Using Outlook, you can recall a message (and replace it, if you wish)

If you try to delete emails, Outlook may notify the recipient of the email you recalled. To recall an email within Outlook:

  1. Start Outlook and navigate into your Send Items folder.
  2. If you want to keep a specific message in mind Double-click it to show it in a new window.
  3. Click on The Messagetab Select an Actionsdropdown Arrow, then select to Recall this Message.
  4. If you would like to be informed of results, click the Let Me Know if the Recall is Successful or Fails for Every Recipient checkbox.
  5. Select OK.
  6. If you have selected to delete unread copies and replace them with an entirely new message Modify the message you originally sent. 
  7. Select Send.
  8. It will send you an Outlook alert message regarding whether or not you succeeded in your effort to rescind or replace the email.

Recalling an Email: What you need to know

Reminder for Outlook emails:

  • Both you and the recipient should both have an Exchange server account, and be using Outlook as your email client.
  • The mailbox of the recipient is accessible when you attempt to complete the recall.
  • The original message hasn’t been read and remains within the reader’s Inbox.
  • This message wasn’t impacted by any other process, for example, the add-in, or spam filter.

Possible Results When You Recall Outlook Email

In accordance with the setting of your email program of choice for the receiver, based on the settings in the email client used by the recipient and whether the email has been read and many other factors the results of your effort to keep an email could be different. Below are some possible outcomes of recalling an email in Outlook recall.

  • When the person receiving the message has not read the message, the recall will be unsuccessful. The original message as well as the updated message (or the notification of your attempt to recall the message) are accessible to the person who received it.
  • If the recipient isn’t able to be able to read the entire message and can’t get access to the recall message first, then the message is removed. Outlook will notify the person that you have deleted this message out of their inbox.

The same happens when the receiver moves both messages into the same folder, either by hand or through an automated rule.

If the recipient has enabled automatic processing of requests and responses to requests for meetings and polls under the heading Tracking, and the recipient hasn’t read the email in its original format, Outlook deletes the original message and informs the recipient you have deleted the message.

Additionally, if you make use of Outlook on a mobile device and attempt to remember a message, the procedure will probably fail.

Delay Sending Messages

A misdirected email could cause a lot of harm and can even be embarrassing. Although Outlook’s recall feature may help you out in an emergency, however, you can ease some pressure by setting up an email to be delivered in the future as well as delaying emails until they are ready to be sent. This allows you to identify errors or change information prior to your email arriving in the inbox of your recipient.

 

 

 

 

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Recent Posts