There will be times when you need to disconnect from social media platforms. People are opting to remove their social media accounts to be less dependent on the internet. You can delete your social media accounts to help you live a more healthy life.
Although permanently deleting your Instagram account can seem daunting, it is possible. Here are some tips for permanently deleting an Instagram account.
How to save your Instagram account data
You might want to keep a record of all your comments, posts, and profile information before you delete your account. Instagram will delete your account and all content associated with it when you delete it. This means that all your comments, likes and photos will be permanently removed. These steps will save your account data:
- To open “Instagram“, tap the ” profile icon” at the lower right corner.
- Tap the hamburger icon (Menu), then tap Settings at the bottom.
- Select Security, and then tap the ‘Download Data’ button.
- Enter your email address then tap to “Request Download.”
Instagram will send a complete file of the profile within 48 hours to the email address that you have provided. You will receive your profile information, photos, comments, and all other information. Even if this information doesn’t seem to be necessary, it is a crucial step in ensuring your privacy. You’ll lose your data completely if you don’t do it. Your data can never be recovered.
How do I permanently delete my Instagram account?
Once you have saved your data, it is possible to delete your account. Instagram gives you two options. You can permanently delete your account with all associated information, or you can choose to temporarily suspend it.
Permanently deleting an Instagram account cannot be done using a browser. However, you can do it with both desktop and mobile browsers. Instagram temporarily hides your profile for 30 days before it disappears forever. If you decide to change your mind, you can easily reinstate it. How to permanently delete an Instagram account
- You can go to the special ” Delete your Account “ page in your browser. Make sure you are logged in.
- Choose a reason to be deleted from the drop-down menu.
- To confirm your decision, click or tap on the “Delete” button.
You can disable your Instagram account
You can disable your Instagram account if you only need a break from it. Your profile is hidden and logs you out. Your followers may think you have deleted your account. You can restore your profile at any time by simply logging in again. These steps will disable your account.
- You can visit Instagram.com using your browser. This is not possible from the app.
- If prompted, log in.
- Tap or click on the profile icon on the upper right-hand side.
- Click or tap ‘Profile’ and then choose ? Edit Profile”
- Scroll down and tap “Temporarily Disable My Account” just right of “Submit”.
- The question will ask you why. Choose an option from the dropdown menu.
- Re-enter your account password.
- Click or tap to “Temporarily Disable Account.”
Please note that Instagram only allows you to disable an Instagram account once per week. This is per Instagram’s policies.
How long does it take for Instagram to delete your account?
After 30 days, your Instagram account will be deleted if you follow the above deletion procedure. Your IG account will become invisible and no one can see it.
It takes Instagram a while to delete accounts that are inactive or report spam/bots. The answer is not as clear. Instagram regularly deletes inactive accounts or accounts that are detected as bots using their system. Instagram, however, isn’t able to determine the frequency of this deletion or the criteria for it.
Instagram can’t be deleted if you are unable to log in
You might find these steps more difficult if you’ve been compromised and need to protect your personal data. Unfortunately, you cannot delete or disable an account without first signing in. Instagram can also not do this for you. Follow these steps to retrieve your password if you can’t remember it or it was changed by someone else.
- Launch the Instagram app.
- Click to “Get help logging into”, under the “Login” button.
- Choose one of these options if you have Android: “Use username and email for your account,”, “Log in to Facebook.”
- Choose one of these options if you have iOS: Username, Phone.
- After you have made your selection, follow the prompts.
You might not be allowed to use these methods if you believe you have been hacked. This depends on how thorough the hacker was in changing your recovery information.
- Start the app.
- Tap For help in logging into using the login fields
- Choose the option that will allow you to enter your username.
- Tap For more information,
Follow the prompts to reach Instagram from this page. You will be asked for account information such as passwords used previously, recovery information, and so on.
Is there a way to get my account back after being deleted?
Officially, there is no way to retrieve your account after it has been permanently deleted. However, many users have found a way to get their accounts back. We’ll show you how.
You need to report your Instagram account as hacked, just like we did above. Here are the steps.
- First, enter your username and email address. Next, click on Instagram’s “Get help signing up” option.
- Select ‘Trouble logging into’ from here
- To proceed, follow the prompts to select the type of account that you would like to restore and then click the option for “My account was hacked“.
- Select’ to learn more about your experience.
- After filling out the forms, Instagram will send an email to you within a few hours. For this to work, you will need to verify your account by providing images, usernames, email addresses, and/or verification codes.
Most Frequently Asked Questions
These are more ways to get answers to your Instagram deletion questions.
What is the maximum length of time Instagram keeps my data after I delete my Instagram account?
Can I delete the account of my child?
No. Not without users’ login information. Instagram’s account deletion policy states that only the account owner may delete an account. Follow the instructions to remove it.
You can finally take some time for yourself and get rid of the constant grind of Instagram culture by deleting and setting up your Instagram account. Temporarily deactivating your account can be a great option if your goal is to escape for a while. But if not, you should delete to protect your account and your sanity. Are you a user of Instagram? Do you have questions or experience with deleting accounts? We would love to hear from you in the comments section below.