2.2 C
Munich

How to Factory Reset Your iPhone

Popular Posts

All your settings, data, apps, and data will be erased when you reset your iPhone. You can then sell or give away your iPhone and not worry about your personal data being seen by the new owner. Resetting your iPhone can fix any problems you have with it. If your iPhone is lost or stolen, you can reset it remotely via a web browser. These are the various ways you can reset your iPhone remotely without using a computer.

How to reset your iPhone

You should first back up all of your data before you reset your iPhone. Remove the SIM card from your iPhone if you intend to sell it or give it away. Also, sign out of iCloud if you want to delete your iPhone’s data. Go to Settings > [Your name] > Sign out.

To delete all data, deselect the option. If they are grayed out, you will know that they have been deleted. Tap Sign out at the top-right and then select Log Out from the pop-up message.

Unpair your Apple Watch before you reset your iPhone. Make sure your iPhone is fully charged. Apple states that your iPhone may need to be charged for at least an hour before you can reset it.

How to reset your iPhone using Settings

You can factory reset your iPhone by going to Settings >General > Transfer or Reset iPhone > All Content and Settings>. Next, tap Continue to enter your iPhone passcode. Enter your Apple ID password, then tap Turn off > Erase.

  1. Open the Settings app on your iPhone. You can tap the middle of the screen to find the Settings app.
  2. Tap General.
  3. Scroll down and tap Reset or Transfer iPhone.
  4. Select Delete All Content and Settings. This will wipe all data from your iPhone and restore it to its original state. You can then choose to restore it from a backup or to set it up as a new device.
    You can tap Get started at the top of your screen to transfer your data. You will have unlimited iCloud storage available to backup your data until your new iPhone is restored (or for up to 21 days). You can also tap Reset at the bottom of the screen if you are looking to fix an issue with your iPhone. This will let you reset your network settings and home screen layout as well as your keyboard language.
  5. Next tap Continue.
  6. Then enter your iPhone passcode. This is the password you use to unlock your iPhone after you turn it on.
  7. Enter your Apple ID password, then tap Turn off. This will appear in the upper-right corner of the screen. You will see it grayed until you enter your passcode.
  8. Next, tap Erase iPhone. Wait for your iPhone’s restart.

You can turn your iPhone off after it restarts if you intend to sell it or give it away. You can then give the iPhone to the next owner. You can also follow the instructions on the screen to set up or restore a backup.

You can reset your iPhone using Recovery Mode if you have any problems with the above steps. This works on almost all Macs and Windows computers. Here’s how:

How to reset an iPhone without your Password

Connect your iPhone to a computer, and then enter Recovery Mode. For iPhone 8 and later models, release the volume-up button. Next, release the volume-down button. Finally, hold down the side buttons until you see the Recovery Mode screen. Click Restore iPhone to save your settings.

Not all users need to have an iPhone 8 or higher and a Mac running macOS Catalina. You can still follow the steps even if your iPhone is older or you have iTunes installed on a Mac or Windows machine.

  1. Connect your iPhone with a USB cable to connect it to a computer.
  2. Open a Finder window to your Mac. Open the iTunes app instead if you have a Mac with macOS Mojave and earlier. Close the iTunes app if it was open at the time you opened it.
  3. Next, enter Recovery Mode on the iPhone. Depending on the device, there will be different steps.
    • iPhone 8 and newer: Release the volume-up button. Next, release the volume-down button. Finally, press and hold down the side buttons until the iPhone restarts. Sometimes, you may need to hold the side button down for as long as 30 seconds.
    • iPhone 7 models – Hold the volume button and the side buttons until you see Recovery Mode.
    • iPhone 6s or older Hold the power button at the top of your device and the side/top button until you see the Recovery Mode screen.
      Notification: If the Recovery Mode screen is not visible, please turn off your iPhone and retry.
  4. Next, open the pop-up message to restore. . Whether you’re using Finder on a Mac, or iTunes on a Windows PC, you should see a popup message saying “there is a problem in the iPhone”.
    Notable: If you need to repair any issues with your iPhone’s software, you can click Update. However, you won’t be able to delete any data or settings.
    Notification: To see the pop-up window again, you can open the iTunes app or a Finder window. Select your iPhone and click Restore iPhone.
  5. Click Restore and update. Your iPhone may take some time to reset but do not disconnect your iPhone from your computer until it is done.

You can reset your iPhone from a browser via the iCloud website if you have lost it. Here’s how:

How to Remotely Reset iPhone Using iCloud

Log in to iCloud.com/find with your Apple ID password and username to reset your iPhone. Next, click All Devices in the top right corner of your screen. Select your iPhone from that list. Click Erase iPhone >.

Notification: In order to reset your iPhone using iCloud, make sure that the Find My feature is enabled in your phone’s iCloud settings. After your iPhone has been reset, you will need to enter your Apple ID password and passcode to unlock it. This method should not be used if your iPhone is being sold or given away.

  1. Sign in to. Enter your Apple ID password.
  2. Next, click All devices to select your iPhone. A dropdown list will display a list all of your Apple devices that iCloud can locate.
  3. Next, click Erase iPhone in the menu that opens.
  4. Next click.
  5. Next, enter your Apple ID password. Also, you will be asked to confirm your identity via email or two-factor authentication.
    Notice: This browser might be trusted. Click Trust to continue.
  6. Enter your phone number, then click Next. This will allow anyone to find your iPhone to contact it and return it.
  7. Enter a message, then click Done. This message will give more information to anyone who finds your iPhone. This step can be skipped by clicking Done.

After you’re done, iCloud will notify you that the erase has begun.

After you have learned how to reset iPhone without a password or with a password, read our step-by-step guide on how to restore an iPhone from a backup.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Recent Posts