23.9 C
Munich

How To Delete All Contacts On The IPhone

Popular Posts

You may feel overwhelmed when you scroll through your contacts in search of the one person you want to contact.

In the early days of cell phones, you had to transfer your contacts from one device to another during an upgrade. You can transfer contacts to any new device easily using iCloud or email backups. This is great, but it can lead to old contacts that you don’t need. These contacts won’t cause any harm to your phone, but it might be time for you to delete some content from your Contacts List.

There is an easy way to delete all your contacts from your phone. It’s more difficult if you want to select and delete individual contacts. We can help you delete all of your contacts or hide some contacts in order to save time.

 

How to Delete All Your Contacts from the iPhone

There are two ways to get rid of all your contacts from iPhone. You can either delete all contacts from your iCloud. This will cause them to disappear on all your Apple devices. Or, you can delete them directly on your iPhone. In this section, we’ll discuss both of these options.

How to hide all contacts

Your iPhone’s contacts are stored either on your phone or in an email account. The easiest way to delete contacts is to turn off sync. These steps will allow you to delete contacts from your iPhone.

  1. Open Settings in your iPhone. Next, tap on Contacts.
  2. Click on Accounts.
  3. You will now see a list with all your email accounts. Click on any of these accounts.
  4. Turn the grey switch near Contacts on.
  5. These steps should be repeated for all email accounts.

Note: To turn off your iCloud contact, tap on your name at top of the Settings page. Next, tap ICloud and then toggle the Contacts switch.

This method doesn’t delete your contacts. The above-mentioned tasks will remove them from your iPhone.

Filtering your email accounts that can sync contacts to your iPhone is another option. This is a simple, yet effective process. Here are the steps:

  1. Open the Contacts or Phone app on your iPhone.
  2. Tap Contacts if you are using the Phone App.
  3. Tap Groups in the upper left corner.
  4. Uncheck all accounts if you wish to delete all your contacts.
  5. All your contacts will be lost.

Your contacts won’t disappear forever, just like the previous method. You can quickly retrieve your contacts by reversing the steps and turning the accounts back on. You can also disable one account and make others active, or vice versa. This is a great option to quickly regain control of your contacts.

How to Permanently Delete All Contacts Using iCloud

iCloud is one of the many great benefits to using Apple products. iCloud does more than just save your photos and important documents. It makes it easy to manage your data, including your contacts. These steps will allow you to permanently delete all your contacts from your iCloud and eventually your iPhone.

  1. Log in to the iCloud website.
  2. Click on Contacts.
  3. Highlight all contacts by using the keyboard shortcut CLM+A ( TRL+A) on a computer. When the background changes from blue to gray, you will recognize that they are highlighted.
  4. In the lower left corner, click on the Settings Cog.
  5. In the pop-up menu, click to delete Confirm.

Note This will permanently erase all your contacts from your iCloud. Make sure you have any important information that you might need later.

This is a quick and efficient way to clean up all your contacts from all your Apple devices. However, if other email accounts have the contacts saved, you will need to delete those contacts.

Removing selected contacts

This is possible using the iCloud. However, you can also do it on your iPhone. You can click on each contact and then tap the Edit button at the top-right. Scroll down the page until you see “Delete Contact” in red. Click on “Delete Contact” in red.

 

This can be a very time-consuming process if you have many contacts to purge. It is easier to log in to iCloud from a computer and highlight multiple contacts simultaneously.

Editing your Contacts

It may be very easy to send a text message to a friend, acquaintance, or relative who has a new number. You can then click on the circle with an “i” and add a contact. You’ll eventually have so many duplicates that you won’t be able to tell which one is the current.

These steps will help you edit and update the contact information in your log.

  1. Open the iPhone’s phone app and choose the middle option for Contacts
  2. Tap “Edit” in the upper right-hand corner
  3. Tap the plus sign, which is enclosed by a green bubble. (‘Add phone’ will be right next to it since you can add multiple numbers for one person.
  4. Enter the new number
  5. To delete an old phone number, tap the red bubble with the minus symbol. This also works for emails

 

It will keep your contacts log organized and prevent it from getting too full. You can access the settings to choose the account that you want to be the default contact for backups and restores.

Similar to the previous steps, go to contacts and scroll down to “Default Account”. Choose whether to store your friends’ numbers in the iCloud.

These steps could save you years of headaches.

Most Frequently Asked Questions

These are more frequently asked questions regarding iPhone contacts.

Is it possible to organize my contacts in a professional way?

Yes. Yes. Your iPhone offers a number of customization options that will allow you to better manage your contact list. You can access these controls by following the Settings>Contacts route as we have done above. You can then choose to sort by last and first names.

You can use the Group options to group your contacts according to their genres (for example, personal and work contacts). If you don’t have your contacts organized in your email accounts, this can make it difficult. You can toggle between personal and work emails using the Groups option.

How can I find out which contacts are on my iPhone and which are in my email accounts?

Although it is rare, you may find some contacts saved to your iPhone’s internal memory and not to an external account. Follow the above steps to delete all contacts. The remaining contacts will be saved to your iPhone’s storage.

There is no quick way to delete contacts from your iPhone’s memory. To delete each contact individually, tap Edit and Delete.

Is it possible to delete all contacts?

Unfortunately, no. While other iPhone apps, such as the Photos app, will offer a Select All option for you to choose from, the Contacts app does not.

What can I do to delete all my contacts that are stored on my phone?

You can still delete all contacts if they are stored in your phone’s memory, rather than the Cloud. However, this process can be a lot more complicated.

You have two options: delete each contact one at a time as shown above or go nuclear with a Factory Reset.

All contacts will be deleted immediately if you factory reset your iPhone. However, everything else will also disappear immediately. The most efficient method to delete all contacts on your iPhone is a factory reset.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Recent Posts